Fri. Mar 24th, 2023

There have been seven Heisman Prizes won by football players from Ohio State College (OSU). A sum of six players have won those seven prizes as Archie Griffin stays the main school football player ever to win more than one Heisman Prize. Griffin won his two honors in 1974 and 1975 following his lesser and senior seasons.

The latest Heisman victor to emerge from Ohio State was quarterback Troy Smith. Smith won in December of, two or three weeks prior to losing 41-14 in the public title game to Tim Tebow of the College of Florida who a year after the fact would go onto become the principal future university sophomore to at any point win the honor.

The Ohio State Buckeyes Heisman Prize victors are:

Les Horvath (1944): quarterback/halfback
Vic Janowicz (1950): halfback/punter
Howard Cassady (1955): halfback
Archie Griffin (1974 and 1975): running back
Eddie George (1995): running back
Troy Smith (2006): quarterback

Ohio State College is tied for the most Heisman Prizes alongside the College of Notre Woman and the College of Southern California (USC). After those three schools that each have seven prizes surprisingly the following nearest is the College of Oklahoma with five and afterward there are four schools generally attached with three each. Strangely Armed force, which won the sought after grant in 1945, 1946, and 1958, is attached with additional cutting edge conspicuous projects like the College of Florida, College of Michigan, and the College of Nebraska – every one of the four of which have three.

In certain regards the College of Notre Woman resembles the Military program of the pack at the top that are attached with seven. Barring the Tim Earthy colored win in 1987 Notre Woman just has one champ (John Huarte in 1964) in generally the most recent 55 years. On the other hand USC has created almost 43% of its champs since the turn of the thousand years. Ohio State by examination has had a substantially more even stream of victors throughout the long term.

Albeit frequently censured as being excessively political and comprehensive of just a little arrangement of football positions the Heisman Prize is surely known to be the most sought after individual honor in school football. The main honor was given to Jay Berwanger, a running back from the College of Chicago, in 1935. The actual honor is named after John Heisman who was an exceptionally compelling figure in the early improvement of the school game prior to dying on October 3, 1936, three weeks before his 67th birthday celebration.

Winning the sought after prize related with being the top school football player in the country isn’t an assurance of future accomplishment at a higher level. There have been 75 Heisman Prize victors and to date just eight of them have been drafted into the football corridor of distinction with the latest being Barry Sanders who won the honor in 1988.

Rick, who composed this article, has a great deal of companions who love the red and dark. Rick finds the school soul among the OSU loyal outstandingly high. A valid example is the way that his mates who are graduated class of the school each have their own Ohio State College golf sack

By Admin